We charge by the size (number of respondents/rows in the input files*) of activated projects in your account and the specific Tier you are on. A project is activated when you explore it the first time.



In this case, exploring the column "review" would be 20 rows which in this case equals 20 texts or, "verbatims", and which in turn would require 20 credits to analyze.


More specifically:

  1. Once your trial has ended you have to pick a plan. The price list of available plans has the details.
  2. You pay monthly, in advance, for the plan, and it gives you access to a certain number of credits that can be used to analyze rows  of data each month.
  3. Credits do not expire.
  4. When you do your first exploration of a new project, by clicking "Explore", your account balance of credits will be decreased with the number of rows (texts) in your project. Each file is made up of rows of data and the number of rows is calculated as the sum of the rows in the files (Even if they are empty rows. If you don't want empty rows to be included in the analysis, remove them from your input file first).
  5. When you append (add more data) to an existing project, your account balance of credits will be decreased by the number of added rows, instantly (not waiting for the project to be explored again).
  6. At the end of the account period the counter will reset to the plan level you have chosen for your account. And we are back at the start of a new period with a new allowance.
  7. You can upgrade or downgrade (or cancel) your plan at any time and the effect will be instant. If you upgrade, you will have to pay the extra charge for the additional credits, right away (the difference between your new plan cost and the old plan cost). If you down-grade you will not get a refund, but your next scheduled charge, at the end of the account period, will reflect your new plan.
  8. If you ever run out of credits, you will be asked to purchase a new block of credits. If you do you, you will be charged for the extra credits at a price corresponding to the block of credits. If you choose not to accept overage, you will not be charged anything and you will have to wait for the next billing period to start before exploring you new project (at which time you will receive new credits).
Please note:
  • Un-explored projects do not require credits. This means you can create a project and add its data (and append more if you want) and refrain from exploring it without being charged.
  • You may access your projects fully for one billing period after you cancel or stop paying for your account (but you won't be able to start new projects or append new data to the existing projects).
  • You will have limited access to your projects (data export only) for another 3 months after you cancel or stop paying for your account. Then your account and all its data will be deleted. Please tell us if you want us to delete your account before that.
  • If your organization is using manager/managed accounts (where one account handles the billing and all associated secondary accounts share its credits) there are special rules below.

Managed accounts

  1. The main account (the manager) has to have payment configured (either credit card or invoicing)
  2. The manager can invite other users accounts to be managed. They have to exist and they have to have logged in at least once.
  3. If a user accept an invitation to be managed, that user will be managed by the manager. This means that:
    1. The manager is the only account required to pay
    2. The managed account will share the manager account's credits with the manager and any other managed accounts.
    3. Any overage applied to a managed account will be applied to the manager's account instead.
    4. The special circumstances above will be in place until the manager or the managed user ends the relationship by disconnecting on the account page.
    5. When a managed account is disconnected from a manager it reverts to a normal account and normal payment responsibilities are applied again. To protect the managed user from unwanted charges, the user has to explicitly and manually re-activate the account for this to happen. If the managed account user does not re-activate the account it will be left in a canceled state and the above information for unpaid accounts will be in effect. Any responsibilities of the manager are also ended when a managed account is disconnected.
* This post mentions data in files but it is equally applicable to the case when you upload data in JSON format using the API.